40 Days of Poetry: First Kiss

I am on day 5 of a 40 day poetry course through Story Sessions, and oh my goodness, this has been fun and amazing and stretching already.  I won’t be posting everything I write for it here, but I will share some of my favorites along the way.

Photo by Jorge Parrales II

Photo by Jorge Parrales II

It is the evening walk to my front door.
February wind blows timid, caresses not so biting.
My heart surprises me with its fluttering –
the revelation of how I do not want you to part. {ever}

The good-bye hug begins.

I linger far past the acceptable time for such things.
{you do not seem to mind.}
The scent of cologne, the strength of your arms,
the warmth of you near –
a heady cocktail to make me forget my resistance
if only for a moment.

The walls shudder and snap back into place.

I force myself to step away,
fighting the magnetism of my soul and yours,
but your arms tighten with the resolve of knowing
and your kiss lands like a grenade on my barricades.

Many years and many fiery kisses lie behind us now.
Still this is our secret –
when the locusts come to eat everything alive
and the vultures come to feast on our weary, wounded hearts –
we are saved by the heat and the sparks and the melting in,
the pulling close of two lives forged into one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marriage, Poetry

Leave a Reply

