Five Minute Friday: Hero

Image Source: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image Source: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

*This post is part of the link up with Lisa-Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday.  We write for five minutes, no stopping, no editing, on a given subject.

Is it bad to admit I want to be someone’s hero?  Because it’s true.  I do.

I almost whispered it to my husband yesterday: “I think I was meant to influence, to impact . . .”

But it’s also terrifying.  How many of my heroes have fallen?  How many have turned out to be less than heroic?  And often, how devastating was that to my heart?

I would never want to devastate anyone’s heart.  And yet, in spite of the devastation, how much did those heroes shape me?

The one who encouraged and unleashed my love of music.

The one who pushed and challenged me into my love of writing.

The one who dropped me into the deep end of leadership and then taught me how to swim.

The one who drew me into a deeper pursuit of God.

None of them perfect, all of them life-changing.

In the end I can only hope that when my failures and imperfections get the better of me, there will still be something beautiful and redemptive far more eternal than my humanity.

And so I confess again, maybe a little louder of a whisper, I do want to be someone’s hero.

2 Comments

Filed under Hope, Passion, Writing

2 responses to “Five Minute Friday: Hero

  1. I don’t think a hero needs to be perfect. Everyone is human and makes mistakes. Someday you’ll be someone’s hero too.

    Thanks for sharing. (Visiting from FMF. )

  2. Stopping over from Five Minute Friday. Beautiful post. You are a hero for sharing your inner whispers. 🙂 Here’s mine is you get a chance to read. –> http://wp.me/p39Wdr-bR Have a great weekend. P.S. Following you as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

