When the Safe Places are Shaken

Photo by Austin Upton

Photo by Austin Upton

I think I have been in hiding for the past few weeks.

There are places I have come to rely on as havens in my life, but recently, almost every one of those safe places has suddenly become a little less safe.  There is a shaking happening.  And it’s not fun.

But it is revealing.  I find myself approaching God’s heart with new eyes, new ears.  As I am forced to look at my world differently, He also prompts me to look at my own heart differently.  And I am discovering that for all my independence and strong will, much of what I have become has been defined by others, not Him.  Not the One who most truly sees me.  So I lean in closer, teach my soul to be still and know.

I am not unique in this experience.  Snippets of stories waft my way in spite of the arms’ length I have been holding the world at, and I know there are many others feeling the tremors too.  I whisper to you the comfort I whisper to myself: He is shaking everything that can be shaken, so that only what cannot be shaken will remain.

I think of my children when they are faced with a new circumstance or experience, how their little bodies draw close, arms wrapped around my leg or holding to my hand.  I cannot take away the uncertainty or the apprehension, but I can infuse them with courage through the assurance of my nearness.

And so we draw close, wrap our weary arms around the everlasting arms.  It may not stop the shaking, but it will remind us of our refuge and release the strength we need to stand firm, even as the ground around us sways and shifts.  But once the stillness comes and the dust settles, we will know with heightened clarity the things within us that are unshakeable.

Consider things around you that are shaking.  Is there perhaps something new He wants you to see in your own heart?

2 Comments

Filed under Hope, Presence, Waiting

2 responses to “When the Safe Places are Shaken

  1. yessss…..ever since before the If:Gathering I have been feeling a stripping away. Stripping away, like you strip old paint off of a windowsill. It is good, but it is hard.

  2. You seem to describe me many times. I definitely feel this too. I want Him to strip away, refine me. Praying for us all as we go through this. I want to be defined by Him not by others.

Leave a Reply

