Five Minute Friday: Writer

Image Source: A Shared Lens

Image Source: A Shared Lens

Writer.

As a little girl, I knew I wanted to write.  Among other things, but this was one of my favorite pastimes.  I got better and better the older I got.  But one thing was always the same – I claimed writing as something I liked to do, but I never claimed “writer” as someone I was.

That is beginning to change.  It’s hard some days.  You say “I’m a writer” and someone will say “have you written any books?”  I still can’t say yes to that question, but I can say I’m working on one and have ideas for two more.  Even more, I am cultivating the discipline day after day, weaving it more and more into my life.  Even when it’s hard.  Even when life’s demands seem determined to steal my writing time.  Even when the words are feeling tired and empty.  It is still becoming intricately entwined.

So . . . I find myself a little more willing each day to say, “Yes, I am a writer.”  And I work on not comparing myself to other writers.  Because ultimately what makes a writer is someone who found her own voice and told her own stories.  I don’t have to be like anyone else.  My process doesn’t have to play out like anyone else’s.  My book will come out in its own time, its own way.  But for all the writing I will have to do just to get to that point?  I might as well go on and claim it now.

I am a writer.

*Today I am linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday.

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “Five Minute Friday: Writer

  1. in from 5MF…nice! good for you! comparison is a hard to not do, but it’s where freedom can be experienced.

  2. minireeses

    Reblogged this on Writing with Reason and commented:
    admitting to myself even simply that I want to be a writer is a challenge…

  3. kellysshining

    I love this: Because ultimately what makes a writer is someone who found her own voice and told her own stories.

    That is such an important point. We are not created to be identical. God wanted us to be unique. He did not create us to compare us and stifle us to fit any mold. We are all unique and our writing as well as our writing journey will reflect that.

    Thanks for sharing your writing prompt answer. I am dropping by from FMF. 🙂 God bless you. Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

