It’s Not Too Late

Photo by Jennifer Upton

Photo by Jennifer Upton

I want to be short, sweet and practical today.

This has been a significant week for me.  Among the goals I set for myself at the beginning of the year, one had to do with the number of times I wanted to workout each week and one was the number of times I wanted to blog each week.  This is the first week I’ve met both of those goals.

And maybe you say, “Sheesh!  It’s April, and you’re just now doing one week’s worth of what you said you would do?”  I’m tempted to join you.  But I won’t.

Because I’m learning that meaningful change rarely, if ever, comes in short, sudden bursts.  I’m learning that as soon as you resolve to change something or prioritize something, everything under the sun will conspire to stop you.  I’m learning that I have more grit and perseverance than I remember on an average day.

I have 5 areas I’m working on this year, and I keep those things ever before me.  At the beginning of each month, I set myself smaller steps to take towards the bigger goals.  At the end of each month, I evaluate where I am.  What did I do well?  Where did I miss the mark?  I adjust and decide the small steps for the next month.  I am also setting aside time at the end of each quarter to assess where I am.  I just did this for the first quarter of the year, and it was pleasantly surprising to see I am making more progress than I’d realized.  This is the first time in my life I’ve taken this kind of approach to change and goals, and I have to say, it is turning out to be quite effective.

I say all of this to encourage you – it’s not too late.  What are you wanting to accomplish?  What are you wanting to change?  There are 12 months in the year, and we’ve only completed 3.  There’s still plenty of time.  So you might have gotten off track or been frustrated by slower-than-hoped-for progress.  It’s ok.

Let’s keep going. One step at a time.

2 Comments

Filed under Change, Writing

2 responses to “It’s Not Too Late

  1. Courage, my friend, courage!!!

  2. Stay strong. I commiserate that time is a preciously frustrating thing, but I’ve been meditating lately on how all good things take time.

Leave a Reply

