For the Love of Poetry (Pt. 3) – Exploring God

Image Source: CreationSwap

Image Source: CreationSwap

Today, can I share with you some words incredibly personal and dear to my heart?

When I first started writing poetry, it was a place to process emotion, to unload all that teenage angst, to play with words.

But then I read John Donne.  And he intrigued me.  I mean, first you have The Flea – this long, eloquent discussion of a flea biting a man and a woman which turns out to be quite the elaborate (and can we say it – slightly ridiculous) pick up line.  And you have No Man is an Island, a brilliant consideration of the connectedness of humanity that has resonated with countless hearts across many generations.  And then – his Holy Sonnets.

Batter My Heart, Three-Personed God led me through new doors and down new paths as a writer and a Christian.  As I read these words again and again, my heart stirred to write about God this way, to know Him this way.  All throughout Donne’s Holy Sonnets, he pulls on unique images and concepts that help you see God through fresh eyes.  Sometimes it’s uncomfortable; always it’s enlightening.

So I began exploring God through poetry.  I began, if you will, documenting my spiritual journey through poetry.  I learned what it meant to pour my heart out to Him – to hold nothing back, to be laid bare, to not be afraid to be brutally honest when it was hard or when I wanted to quit.  And to this day, when I am struggling to hear Him, when I feel like I am out of words to pray, I can find Him through the poetic voice in my spirit.

I do not share these poems often, but I would love to offer you three today.  And from the bottom of my heart, I would hope and pray they might draw you a step closer into His romance and mystery.

 

Greystone

I saw my heart

tossed upon the jagged rocks.

I saw my soul

tumbling down the emerald hills.

I felt my bottled tears

as the icy rain fell.

 

But then I knew how all that has been:

my hemorrhaging heart –

the endless solitude that would poison my soul –

the relentless fear that would paralyze my heart –

the merciless desert . . .

Brought me to this intoxicating moment,

 

Where the wind brought us close,

where Your arms held me close,

and after so long a silence –

You whispered my name.

 

The Sea

I am so small,

staring into the face

of a blue expanse

that could devour my existence.

And You, should You stand beside me,

would gather it all, beyond what I see,

into the palm of Your hand.

 

It is me You hold right now.

 

I see the reflection of Your eyes

in the shimmering surface.

My wavering, trembling soul

is stilled at last,

by the warmth of the flames in Your eyes,

by the breeze of Your lovely voice,

and the gentle fingers through my hair.

 

Hands

Invisible –

yet real as the air I breathe.

Blind to the things I can see,

I depend on the shadow

only my soul knows.

 

So soft – my velvet shadow –

caress my skin and fold

around my heart.

Hold it in Yours.

 

Rough – my stubborn shadow –

from holding this clay

in the blazing forge.

(Do not let go.)

 

Desperate devotion – I cling

to Your feathers and steel.

I follow this solid phantasm,

adore the silken touch,

real as the air I breathe.

3 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Faith, Poetry, Writing

3 responses to “For the Love of Poetry (Pt. 3) – Exploring God

  1. Greystone – oh my. You speak my heart sister! Keep pressing in!

  2. Thank you for daring to share such intimate accounts of your relationship with God. The connection between creation and Creator is very strong here: the revelation of God’s grandeur in the ‘shimmering surface’, in his ability to hold ‘a blue expanse that could devour my existence’ in the palm of his hand. The contrast between his power and his gentle whispering of your name. I have enjoyed reading these today. They are feeding my heart!

  3. I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or
    blog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I
    at last stumbled upon this website. Studying thyis info So i’m happy to express that I’ve a very just right uncanny feseling I found out just
    what I needed. I most indubitably will make certain to do not fail to remember
    this site and give it a look regularly.

Leave a Reply

