Five Minute Friday: Belong

Photo by Jennifer Upton

Photo by Jennifer Upton


Restless heart,
you belong.

Perhaps not in the small spaces,
the comfy cozy places
sought by so many.

But you belong.

Gypsy heart,
I see you.

Your roots do not run merely deep,
but also wide,
far wide,
arms flung open
to embrace all the color,
wonder,
humanity
that is this great wide world.

Photo by Jennifer Upton

Photo by Jennifer Upton

You are not alone.
No one is alone
who has looked deep into souls
all over the world,
who can go back to anywhere
and find themselves coming home
because here they connected to hearts.

We belong –
you and I –
with our vagabond hearts
and feet itching to find new trails.
We belong to the adventure.
Our home is in the song of the wild
beckoning us to come and see.

IMG_4487-X3

Perhaps others shake their heads,
push us aside
because we brush up against their longing
for security,
for one place.
They are not wrong,
we are not better.
Our hearts just beat with
a different rhythm.

If you find yourself longing
to ride off on the wind,
craving new spaces,
ready to go –
it is not because you are lost.

It is because we belong.
We belong to the whole vast universe.

*Today I’m linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday. Come join us.

9 Comments

Filed under Creativity, Writing

9 responses to “Five Minute Friday: Belong

  1. Dana

    Ugh… looked deep into souls all over the world… yes. Love this and get this, my friend.

  2. I really want this to have music – I would sing it at the top of my lungs!

  3. I’m coming here from FMF (there is a blog in between ours which I can’t open for whatever reason!)… reading your words, was encouraging.
    I agree. This should be made into a song.

    I love this line…

    They are not wrong,
    we are not better.
    Our hearts just beat with
    a different rhythm.

  4. Do you know how you just inspired me? Of course you don’t. That’s why I’m telling you now. These words, this poetic way of sharing….makes my inner poet want to ride the open waves and embrace her again. Fight for those words, Adela, because they are worth their salt in this world.

  5. WoW!! This line “because we brush up against their longing
    for security, for one place.” I just felt scarcity whisper I missed my boat, but then I read this and remember, I have my own voice, my own song, it may not always be welcome in the world, but it is always welcome in His embrace.

  6. ‘Our home is in the song of the wild
    Beckoning us to come and see’

    Those words will stay with me. They rise and fall and carry me on with promises of beauty and connection, adventure and homecoming. Just beautiful.

  7. these wrecked me in the most beautiful, unfolding, ungracious way. were i not in a public coffee shop, i would have fallen to the floor weeping because my heart desires complete and utter belonging to God and in my community!

Leave a Reply

