In Celebration

Image Source: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image Source: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

July is my birthday month. At one point in my life, I had actually managed to train everyone around me to spread the celebrations out for an entire month. It hasn’t worked so well in the last few years, but hey, I keep trying anyway.

When I got married, my husband was really indifferent about his own birthday. I thought something was horribly wrong with him. I made a big deal about it anyway. And again the next year. And the next year. We’ll celebrate seven years of marriage in November, and I have finally gotten the man to be excited about his birthday. As for my kids, they pretty much ask year round when their next birthday is.

With every fiber of my being, I believe everyone is worthy of being celebrated. The world would be incomplete without you. Really. You were born because God looked at the universe and said, “Hmmm. Not quite right yet. Needs a little more spark.” And bam – there was you. Fabulous and deserving of celebration.

But here’s the thing: while I am outstanding at celebrating other people, I’m not always good at celebrating myself. It’s easy to see your wonder; it’s a lot harder to see my own. I also get that sometimes we just wish other people would notice and celebrate us; trust me – I really get it.

Still I decided to not wait for anyone else to celebrate me this year. I decided to take time every day for one thing – even just one small thing – that I really love or enjoy or means something to me. It’s probably driving Facebook land completely bats as I document my daily birthday party, but that’s ok. And some days (most days) it’s really uncomfortable to stop and ask myself, “How am I going to celebrate me today?” But that’s ok too.

Because 32 years into my life, I am finally beginning to wrap my mind around my own worth. To accept that I can embrace my value without it being prideful or cocky. And maybe the lesson has been slow in coming, but as the roots of the truth push deeper, so does freedom.

I almost wish this would be a movement. I wish we would all celebrate our birthdays for a whole month. I hope you are surrounded by people who will see you and celebrate you, but even more, I hope you can embrace your own unique wonder enough to be able to celebrate yourself.

Don’t even wait for your birthday month. What is one thing you can do today to embrace and enjoy your magnificent self?

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty

Leave a Reply

