Shifting Seasons

Unsplash/Joe Beck

Unsplash/Joe Beck

September 1 is here, and I am staring into the fog of this month, wondering what exactly it will bring.

In 30 days, my life is going to look a lot different than it does right now. A huge part of that involves moving to a new home, although where exactly that home is going to be still remains a mystery.

I’ve learned something about myself over the last few months. I don’t deal with transition as well as I’d like to. It’s one thing when there’s some clarity about what awaits on the other side of the change. But when everything looks like one enormous question mark? Well, this doesn’t bring out my finest moments.

But I want to change this. I don’t know that I can do anything to change the swirling emotions that start a frenzied dance inside of me. But maybe I could respond to them differently, in a way that births peace even in the uncertainty.

Recognizing this and accepting it about myself seems like an enormous victory all by itself. And now I am looking for the next steps to take to embrace the shift, rather than be overwhelmed by it.

Today it looks like writing for me—to give my soul space to breathe and to remind myself of what could be possible. It looks like an enormous, colorful salad for lunch—to care for this body that has a lot to do in the days and weeks ahead. It  looks like lingering a little longer over a book that speaks to the process of waiting. It looks like hunting down joy and telling my husband I need to laugh with him before this day is over.

And maybe something in me can change for the better, even as life changes all around me.

What about you? How do you deal with transitions and uncertainty? 

2 Comments

Filed under Change

2 responses to “Shifting Seasons

  1. I strip my schedule down to the bare minimum. I don’t make any new choices, because I know I am more prone to make commitments when my schedule is in transition that I will change my mind about later. I stick to what I know. I cook, particularly things that require slow, methodical cooking, like risotto. I drink a lot of tea. I make a deliberate attempt to socialize at least twice a week, because I also know transition is the time that I tend to go task-oriented and forget to call people.

    • Ooh, deliberate socializing. That’s a good reminder for me. I tend to be an extreme introvert during transition. And I love the cooking idea. That would be really therapeutic.

Leave a Reply

