Day 17: Getting Away (31 Days of Simple Truths)

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

We’re camping this weekend. It was a chore getting ready for it, but I’ve been really looking forward to this time. I need to get away, even if it’s short and sweet.

While being self-employed offers a good bit of flexibility, one of the downsides is no paid time off or holidays. If I’m not working, I’m not getting paid. That might be nice if I ever write a best-selling book or something, but right now, it’s hard. Any “vacation” time is preceded by piling in the work hours to make up for when I’ll be off. Not so fun.

Sometimes, I can use it as an excuse to not get as much rest as I really need. And sometimes, it’s a legitimate excuse. But just because something is tricky or complicated doesn’t mean it’s impossible. It just means a little creativity might be required.

Because long periods of extended rest are not really an option right now, I’ve learned to weave patterns of rest into my days, weeks, and months. But more importantly, when there’s a chance to get away, I take it.

A change of pace and scenery does wonders for the soul. So I’m fully embracing the fresh air, the hiking, the playing. (Maybe not the tent sleeping, but hey, you take what you can get!)

Leave a comment

Filed under 31 Days of Simple Truths, Family

Leave a Reply

