Hello, Spring

Photo by Jennifer Upton

Photo by Jennifer Upton

Today is officially the first day of spring.  Granted, with bi-polar Texas weather this isn’t always as significant as we would like it to be.  But still, it’s a day I’ve been looking forward to ever since packing up the Christmas decorations.

I have made a tradition of celebrating all the solstices and equinoxes for a lot of years now.  It started with small things I did for myself while I was still in college – a pumpkin spice latte on the first day of autumn or a pedicure for the first day of summer.  But when I had children, it became even more important to me – partly because I always love a chance to have a mini holiday, but more because there is a lesson I want to teach them and remind myself of at the same time.

Life is an ever-revolving cycle of seasons.  The way things are now is not the way things will always be.  This is our hope in the hard seasons and our anxiety in the good ones, but the hope can be increased and the anxiety decreased if we embrace this truth instead of warring against it.  Wherever you find yourself right now, it is only a season.

Every season has its beauty, and every season has its pain.  Where we place our focus determines how our hearts will be marked when the seasons change.

While autumn is my favorite season to linger in (um, because all things pumpkin and boots and scarves!), there is no change I love more than the change from winter to spring.  It is the most hopeful of all the seasons – the promise that dead things can live again, the power of light and warmth softening what is frozen and hard.  So today I slowed down, drew my family in close.  We chose plants and turned soil with our hands.  We walked under the sunlight and ate ice cream.  We rested, and I felt myself pushing back against the fog of discouragement that has come too close too many times in recent months.

In a few short months, we will pause again to bask in the arrival of summer (which will most likely also involve ice cream).  And in spite of the miserable heat we’ll have to endure, we’ll find things to celebrate.

We will.  Because it’s a choice we make.  I remind myself today.  I declare it over your weary heart today.  It is a season, and it will pass.  And we will live, not only to tell about it, but to flourish in the new seasons that follow.

1 Comment

Filed under Beauty, Faith, Hope

One response to “Hello, Spring

  1. Dana

    It makes me smile that you love to linger in autumn and drink a PSL on the first day of fall and that Spring is your favorite transition. Girl. We need to be friends. And then there’s this: “Where we place our focus determines how our hearts will be marked when the seasons change.” Resonates in my depths and I wanna chew on it a while. Thank you for all of this. So glad I made it over here to read. xoxo

Leave a Reply

