Day 23: Self-Care (31 Days of Simple Truths)

31daysOfSimpleTruthsWe have to take care of ourselves. It has been such a long process for me to learn this. What is it for us, especially as women, that struggles so much with this concept? Why do we feel guilty? Why do we feel that we have to prove our toughness? (Ok, so that one is a loaded question with complex layers of answers.)

Equally hard has been learning that the way you need to take care of you may not be the same as the way I need to take care of me. There’s a significant amount of listening to ourselves—our own unique hearts and souls, the unique message the Spirit is  breathing into each one of us.

In many ways, I’ve gotten better about this, especially when, as a mother, I realized I would never be able to properly care for my kids if I wasn’t caring for me too. But sometimes, I still forget. I push too hard. I carry too much. And then I get knocked down hard.

I’m dealing with my second round of sickness within a month’s time, which is pretty unusual for me. I forgot to take care of me during the crazy, and now I’m paying for it with a struggling body and discouraged soul. But I’m thankful for the deluge of rain being dumped on our area this weekend. It is forcing me to slow down, to listen to what I need, to do something about it.

How can you take care of yourself this weekend?

1 Comment

Filed under 31 Days of Simple Truths, Healing

One response to “Day 23: Self-Care (31 Days of Simple Truths)

  1. Soothing Sense

    Aw, thank goodness for rain! I identify with the cost of pushing too hard and paying for it with a struggling body and discouraged soul. I wrote about a recent day off on my blog after doing exactly this! Do feel free to pop a link to this post on there if you would like: https://soothingsense.wordpress.com/2015/10/08/listening-to-your-body/. And, in answer to your question, sleep, nice food, good friends and treating myself to flowers! Hope your sickness passes soon but that the rain takes its time and gives you plenty of time to slow down, listen and do what you need.

Leave a comment